Tags

Fuchsia against an old stone wall in Glencolmcille.

Fuchsia against an old stone wall in Glencolmcille.

Not only was Ireland’s landscape continually awe inspiring, but the plant life was nearly overwhelming. I felt that every other second I was photographing another flower. What I loved the most, though, was the abundant fuchsia. There was so much in Glencolmcille that the hedges that lined many roads were fuchsia.

I’ve long been a fan of the plant, which is difficult to grow in the south. I like it so much that I named one of my characters in The Hallowed Treasures Saga for it (and in homage the character of the same name in The Gormenghast Trilogy by Mervyn Peake).

Lots of cool rocks in Ireland, said the geology major.

Lots of cool rocks in Ireland, said the geology major, and they were often nestled in heather.

Heather and ferns were also ubiquitous. To see more plant life, you can visit my website here: Ireland

Ferns grew everywhere you looked.

Ferns grew everywhere you looked.

 

