Tags

,

A painting of the quote by my daughter.

A painting of the quote by my daughter.

I’ve been busily writing away this week as a part of Camp NaNoWriMo. I wish I could say I’ve been working on my short stories but I must confess that I switched projects. The characters from my first fantasy novel, Near to Far, were calling to me to continue their quest for the Thirteen Hallowed Treasures so I’ve been deeply entrenched in my fantasy world and am now more than 30,000 words into From Here to There.

So it is that I must leave you this week with a section from one of my favorite books that contains one of my all time favorite quotes. This book, The Little Prince, is the only thing I collect. Whenever I am in a foreign country I try to pick up a copy of the book in that country’s language, if possible, and I now own the book in ten different languages although I am still looking for copies in Egyptian and Swahili, among a few others.

From The Little Prince by Antoine De Saint-Exupéry:

And he went back to meet the fox.

“Goodbye,” he said.

“Goodbye,” said the fox. “And now here is my secret, a very simple secret: It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye.”

“What is essential is invisible to the eye,” the little prince repeated, so that he would be sure to remember.

“It is the time you have wasted for your rose that makes your rose so important.”

“It is the time I have wasted for my rose–” said the little prince, so that he would be sure to remember.

“Men have forgotten this truth,” said the fox. “But you must not forget it. You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. You are responsible for your rose . . .”

“I am responsible for my rose,” the little prince repeated, so that he would be sure to remember.

And the fox--a gift from my daughter.

And the fox–a gift from my daughter.

