Today, I finished 29 out of the 58 “parks” for the book: “Day Hiking Tennessee.” Interesting fact: of the 58, half will now have been hiked when the trees were leafless, although Spring flowers were beginning to show their faces, particularly violets, trillium, spring beauties and star flowers. And, the trees are in that first stage of leafing out with that delicate light green in the immature leaves. I’ll finish with a few photos of some of the cool things I saw today:

It's called Reindeer Moss because it's a favorite food of reindeer and  caribou.

It’s called Reindeer Moss because it’s a favorite food of reindeer and caribou.

Hmmm . . . I can think of a number of things to say about this knotty (naughty) tree.

Hmmm . . . I can think of a number of things to say about this knotty (naughty) tree.

Loved the bright yellow on this centipede.

Loved the bright yellow on this centipede.

First yellow violet I've seen in quite a while. Beautiful and happy.

First yellow violet I’ve seen in quite a while. Beautiful and happy.

