Rainy Trail of Tears

Rainy Trail of Tears

And weather, that is, inclement weather, wins again. Cold, windy and drizzly and some rain. Lousy writing-on-a-pad-of-paper weather, but I did it anyway. The drizzle at David Crockett State Park was heavy enough that I had to wear my rain jacket, and keep my phone and notepad protected with a bandana so I could write on it (though it stayed damp. Fortunately, the first trail I hiked in the park was historically interesting in that sections of it were part of the original Trail of Tears route. And, because of the drizzle, more wildlife was out than would have been on a sunny day. A female wild turkey tried to get away from me by scampering down the trail ahead of me. It finally dawned on her to take off into the woods. Fortunately, it was a one-way trail because by the time I was hiking the 2.5-miles back to the starting point, the drizzle had turned to light rain and I was glad I didn’t have to stop and take notes and GPS points.

In the afternoon, I drove to Mousetail Landing State Park, which turned out to have only one trail. I was definitely happy about that because by then it was both cold, windy and a bit drizzly. I looked at the barren hillside above the Tennessee River willing myself to just hike the trail and get it over with. Once I started, I was treated to a lovely hike–the drizzle subsided, the wind quieted and the path was a carpet of moss the entire two miles. The drizzle picked up again as I left the park, but it was no longer a problem. I definitely felt like I was being watched over.

Moss trail at Mousetail

Moss trail at Mousetail

