I too am not a bit tamed, I too am untranslatable, /I sound my barbaric YAWP over the roofs of the world. ~~Walt Whitman

That is to say, I am hiking again. After a nine-hour drive to Henderson, Tennessee, which put me squarely between Pinson Mounds State Archaeological Park and Chickasaw State Park, I spent the night at the only motel in the town to re-charge before hiking both parks today.

And I couldn’t have asked for a more beautiful Autumn day: blue skies in the morning, which turned a bit cloudier in the afternoon, and though it was brisk, it was warm enough that I didn’t need my gloves.

I’ll admit to a bias towards this morning’s park. Pinson Mounds features the second highest prehistoric Native American mound in the United States at 72 feet. Another 16 mounds are scattered around the park and the museum features plenty of artifacts. Fascinating. I truly enjoyed both hikes even though the second hike had me maneuvering around blowdowns while balancing on 2-plank bog bridge.

A view of the museum from the 72-foot Sauls Mound.

A view of the museum from the 72-foot Sauls Mound.

The afternoon found me ambling around Lake Placid at Chickasaw State Park. Fortunately, the footbridge that no longer quite crossed the lake wasn’t essential to my journey. A second hike, which was closer to half a mile than the .8 mile it promised, took me past an old cabin, an old water tower and the remains of something I couldn’t quite make out–there were lots of concrete posts barely sticking out the ground. A remnant of the former New Deal-era park that preceded it, perhaps?

Rémy thinks he'd rather stay at Brewer cabin than keep driving around.

Rémy thinks he’d rather stay at Brewer cabin than keep driving around.

I imagine I’ll be wearing my gloves tomorrow when I head to Big Hill Pond State Park. It’s supposed to get down to 39 degrees. That’s why I’m back at the Americana Inn in Henderson. Hopefully by Spring, I’ll have acquired the appropriate gear to keep me warm until the temperatures are back in the 50s and above again.

