I left early this morning to drive back up to Tennessee and re-hike the Council of Trees Trail at Red Clay State Park and the Bay Loop Trail at Harrison Bay State Park. The first hike was pleasant but not far different from the first time I hiked it. But, the second hike today was wonderful. The weather was perfect and this time I saw loads of wildlife.

In addition to meeting two snakes, I also passed some mallards floating on the lake, a

The first snake.

The first snake.

 

great blue heron and five deer. The first two deer looked up, briefly, as I walked by, but then went back to grazing. The second deer nearly took my breath away. She was only about three feet away and looked at me with the very definition of doe eyes. She stamped her foot and I felt like she was saying, “please don’t make me regret standing here.” I smiled and continued walking. Later, I passed another couple of deer who barely glanced up as I passed by.

Now Rémy and I are ensconced in our campsite, and as it heads toward sunset, the temperature is cooling rapidly. Time to make dinner.

 

Rémy is not sure about the idea of green tea.

Rémy is not sure about the idea of green tea.

